Joe Trohman Talks About Fall Out Boy

Joe Trohman (Fall Out Boy / The Damned Things / With Knives) appeared recently on The Gunz Show. During the interview (part 1 here and part 2 here), Joe talks about Fall Out Boy, and how himself and Patrick [Stump] need to explore in the music way. You can read the interview below.

That part of my life… I like that part of my life. I think people for some reason think I don’t. I like that part of my life – I’m just moving on, that’s all.

Everyone was able to figure themselves out more. Especially for Patrick and myself – not taking away anything from Pete and Andy – but for Patrick and myself were the youngest guys, 17 years old, when we started Fall Out Boy, we spend a lot of that time just doing Fall Out Boy, we didn’t get a chance to – this sounds so weird – explore. Explore musically… it all happened so quickly.

It’s hard talking about that stuff and not come off that I’m not happy or appreciative and that I don’t have gratitude for all the things we’ve done and the things people have done for us with Fall Out Boy, but you can’t just do something for other people all the time.

The things that some of us want to do, don’t fit into the Fall Out Boy mold. So we had to go and just do it, and hope that people understand. A lot of people get offended – I see people getting offended and they take it very personally. It’s too bad, I wish people would just be stoked.

It’s good, you gotta go out and support what Patrick does, and you gotta go what support what Pete does, and what Andy does – Andy’s in a new band called Enabler, which is awesome. I’d like if people could dig on what me and Josh are doing in With Knives. If you can’t dig it, you can’t dig it – that’s fine.”

Thoughts about it?

