Spencer Smith Won’t Be Back In Panic!?

In a recent interview with Alternative Press, which you can read in full here, Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco says that him, and the band, has not talked to Spencer Smith (drums) about coming back in the band. You can read an excerpt of the interview below.

It’s been over a year since drummer Spencer Smith left the band to seek treatment for addiction. How is he doing? What’s his status in the band?
I talk to him periodically, but, honestly, I haven’t talked to him in a little bit. The last time I talked to him, he told me he was doing good. I guess the most you can do is take someone’s word for it. I think it’s going okay. I know when [he entered rehab] it was really tough for me even to have to admit, “Hey, this is crazy.” The fact that he took that step to do that is pretty amazing. Not a lot of people would do that; they would just give up at a certain point. But he was like, “No, no, no. I understand. I need to go. I need to get some help. I need to work on myself.” He’s continuing to do that.

Have there been any talks about brining him back yet?
Not yet. We haven’t talked about that yet. It had to be a separation. You need to focus on you. Don’t worry about anything else that may be jumping into your mind. Just focus on you. I think it’s such a key thing to remember when you’re trying to help yourself. You just gotta focus on yourself and the steps of doing that. He’s got his own program that he’s doing. I think that’s really important. No talks yet of him coming back. But he’s still working on stuff, and the band will definitely continue.

Thoughts about it?

